On Tuesday, Italy’s health ministry said it has approved travel to six non-European tourist destinations without the need for quarantine as a COVID-19 precaution on arrival or return.

On what the ministry refers to as “restricted tourism itineraries,” Italians will be allowed to travel to the Maldives, Seychelles, Mauritius, Egypt (but just Sharm El Sheikh and Marsa Alam), Dominican Republic, and Aruba.

These popular winter sun locations for Italians are distinct from those outside the European Union, which require quarantine upon return to Italy.

According to the decree signed by Health Minister Roberto Speranza, everyone departing for the listed nations must have a ‘Green Pass’ demonstrating COVID immunity — either by vaccination or past illness — and must also present a negative swab at least 48 hours before departure.

People will not be obliged to undergo quarantine once they return to Italy if they have shown another negative test taken no more than 48 hours before boarding their journey.

The health ministry stated that these “COVID-free tourism lanes” were established on an experimental basis.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here